top of page

The Show Goes On

Updated: Apr 10, 2019


THE SHOW OPENS


The great work of all 17 Artist/Physicist Teams for the Fusion Project were all brought into focus during March with a show at the Blitzer Gallery on the west side of Santa Cruz. The show was introduced a week before opening by a great article in the Santa Cruz Good Times written by local art critic Wallace Baine: https://goodtimes.sc/santa-cruz-arts-entertainment/art/fusion-art-physics/ There is also a preshow radio interview about the show accessible on this website.


Opening night was very well attended with several hundred in attendance. Dr. Stephanie Bailey the show organizer was stunning in her show attire.

 









Dr. Ohldag & I spent much of the evening interacting with the many interested in the results of our collaboration.


Dr. Ohldag & I at My Display

Discussing My Project Approach

A PANEL DISCUSSION & SHOW CLOSING


Two weeks after the Blitzer show opening project participants came together with their friends and supporters to hear a panel discussion with some of the artists and physicists teams about what it had meant to them to collaborate on the art work for this show. A video was made which will soon be linked to this website.


Then on the last day of the show we were inspired by artist Ann Altstatt to share food and talk more with each other than had been possible at the busy opening. I took this opportunity to speak in depth to a number of artists about their work and how the project might inspire them in the future.


MY PROJECT CONTINUES


While for most of the artists their physicist collaboration ended when the art work came down, Dr. Ohldag and I had always envisioned a longer period of collaboration because of his move in December from the SLAC lab at Stanford to the Cyclotron Lab at Berkeley Lawrence Livermore Lab. As mentioned in my previous post, we hung an unnamed piece in the staff lounge at the Cyclotron and invited staff to write down name suggestions until the end of March 2019 when Dr. Ohldag and I would meet to decide between them.


In addition, as I also mentioned in my previous post, the names used for my four sculptures at the Blitzer Show were intended to be temporary and we planned to get together after the show to sort out final names based on those suggested both by Dr. Ohldag & my wife, Ann.


So this past Saturday Dr. Ohldag, his wife Sonja, myself, & my wife Ann all gathered at my home studio along with the Ohldag dogs (who also attended the show) to sort out the names for my Fusion sculptures as well as for the one at the Cyclotron.


Trying to Integrate the Several Names














That's It That is the Best Name!




















FINAL SHOW SCULPTURE NAMES


#1 Phased Transitions

#2 Observer or Observed?

Einstein, Soccer, & Gravitational Waves


#4 Symmetry, Time, & Entropy












CYCLOTRON LAB NAMING

Spectral Revelations (Art & Physics Cyclotron Naming)

FINAL PHASE


The final part of my collaboration with Dr. Ohldag is to see if the work below, currently hanging in his new lab in Berkeley will have any influence on his new research work there as well as that of researchers working near him on the Cyclotron Loop of experiment stations. I will be checking in with him until mid-June to see what happens. We already observed that my sketching at his SLAC lab experiment last fall appeared to have a positive effect on the experimental outcome.


In addition, I plan to complete sculptures for the final 3 sketches completed last fall at both the SLAC & Cyclotron Labs and then meet with Hendrik again to name them later this year.

What's Your Sign?









78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Portrait

bottom of page