top of page

Closed System Entropy Challenge Continues

Updated: Dec 5, 2018

After several attempts and of course with some guidance from Dana , I was able to move in a closer directions to depicting/interpreting the physicist's work. The abstract approach does not come easy to a watercolor artist who does realism so had to ease into it with a portrait of Dana working while also doing volunteer work In Jamaica. Followed by a tryptic showing stages of entropy. Groping for inspiration, I went to NASA's Hubble site and found Carina nebula. This allowed me to interpret colors to be used..red (sulfur), blue-white(oxygen) and blue(Hydrogen).My focus was on a star birth changing low entropy material into high entropy heat and radiation and ultimately running out of fusion material.I have pictures in gallery called Entropy. Hopefully I have captured the essence of a complicated and abstract aspect of 2nd Law thermodynamics! Dana and i need to meet in person for final thoughts..what a great experience! Much thanks Stephanie for this creating this fun and challenging project



47 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page