top of page

trying to find common ground.. interfaces between dissimilar materials

I have the honor of working with David Lederman Ph.D for this intriguing UCSC physics & community art collaboration, created and organized by Stephanie Bailey Ph.D (yay.. thank you!) . I got to visit David's Si-Fi lab...no test tubes, but lots of pipes and aluminium, wires and shinny objects, (I felt like I was on a movie set). This is a research lab that explores "fundamental properties of materials in reduced dimensions". I am such a novice in this world of physics... I tried to take in the nanoscale projects that point the way to address future electronic devices, and I must admit, I felt like an awestruck tourist. David graciously toured me around the building and lab explaining and demonstrating projects his group is working on. I have gone back to his website and tried to wrap my head around some of these concepts so foreign to me, and find a way to depict what I can grasp into conceptual art. As a photographer, I can easily photograph all the wonderful physical landscapes I saw at this facility; I was a kid in a candy store, photographically speaking, but this work is actually conceptual, with the physical trappings, so I want to do David's work justice by creating pieces that visually depict the concepts of what I am able to understand about this research.

This is already an amazing journey.









28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page