top of page

What is stronger than steel, transparent and flexible?


Arturo has introduced me to this absolutely beautiful, very old yet extremely new material, graphene. Graphene or graphite, pencil lead, is new in that we now have the ability, through a Scanning Tunneling Microscope(more on that) to manipulate it's single atom structure. This produces a transparent, impermeable and flexible material that can conduct electricity! The advances this provides for computer technologies, batteries and storage is fantastic. This is when we will see those large thin touchscreens floating above our desk! Maybe?


I'm a bit afraid that I may have butchered this information in my attempt to write what I have learned but I, as an artist, am willing to be wrong and learn more. I feel that is what this program is all about.


I met Arturo at his workplace and instantly fell in love with him and his work. It is a very good match. He(with his girlfriend) have since visited my house/studio and I feel we made some wonderful progress on where we see this going. The collaboration on one piece in particular should be quite fun and make a great piece of art.

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page