top of page

Working Backwards

Working backwards entails thinking through each process of making your art piece before getting started. I had to figure out what would go on last and then decide what each previous step backwards would be. I had to have an idea of where I would end up and the steps to get there. That worked fairly well except for slight changes at the end.


This is diametrically opposed to the way I create my art quilts. Generally,I don't work from a photograph. I complete one step before even thinking about the next part. I am motivated by how the materials play together. As each part is completed, I reflect on how I can make it more engaging and then finally, how the quilting might enhance the piece. For better or for worse,I rarely consider the quilting until the top is finished. But the whole point of this collaboration is to experience a project in a new way.


This is the photo that I was working from- ATLAS experiment from CERN

Beginning steps Choosing fabric and detail stitches


1. Black and yellow strips ready to be cut


2. Strips sewn together. Ready to be cut.



3.Running stitch with yellow embroidery thread


4.Working on my flannel design wall



5. Attempting to create the starburst effect



6. Sewing more pieces together


Changes Several fairly large changes happened at this point. The plan was to cover the cream oval with yarn to create a shadow as in the photo.But it wasn't having the effect that I wanted. Luckily,the fabric was loosely woven together so I was able to pick out the threads one by one until they were gone. I also struggled with matching the photo. When I gave myself permission to not match the photo and make a work of art to my liking, I felt much better. I finished the quilt with my artist judgement in mind.


green,yellow, black fabrics pieced together in a asymmetrical starburst shape
7. Reflecting the changes, more of an asymmetrical starburst

8.The finished art quilt, edges straightened, facing attached and handsewn to the back.

In Summary With this collaboration I had to adjust my decision making processes. Photographs of the collider display events(CDE) were mandatory. My collaborator,Benjamin Lehmann showed me some collider display events that he felt would lend themselves to work in fabric and yarn. I chose several from the suggested group.

Using a photo as a guide, I had to have an idea of what each step would be, before beginning at all. I almost always use fabric that I have on hand. The amount of that fabric then determines the size of the piece. If I quilted the three layers together first,then I could know the exact size that the CDE would have to be. I had seen other art quilters quilt their work first, so it wasn't a new idea. Just something that I had never done.

You have to pay attention to where you are going when walking backwards or working backwards. Working backwards just takes a bit more of a plan. It is a lot more safe than walking backwards.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page